MomLife

How to Survive Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding is an amazing bond between mother and child, and not all mother get the opportunity to experience it. I knew I wanted to breastfeed my son and I wanted to do everything possible,to make the journey easy. While the first few weeks of breastfeeding where very hard for me, I almost gave up and I am ever glad I didn’t. The first three months of motherhood are challenging, small things make all the difference. These are the five things that helped me survive breastfeeding

1.Water

Breastfeeding made me very warm and extremely thirst, having water within arm reach was very helpful. These contigo water bottles are heaven sent, I bought them from Costco. I would have to these water bottles at the “feeding station”. There are easy to drink from, so no accidents there.

contigo
Costco

2.Comfortable Chair

You will be spending hours upon hours in that chair, so you have to be as comfortable as possible. I liked my rocking chair, but I was more comfortable seating on the couches in our living room.

3. Nursing Pillow

The pillow was very helpful for the first few weeks, and by the time my son was three months. I started using a regular pillow. The nursing pillow made it easy for me to hold him,since he was so small. I also supported my back with extra pillows.

nursing-pillow-750x429
Toys r’us

 

4.Good Television

The first few weeks of breastfeeding are long and hard. Good entertainment is key, especially when you are far from far and is spending time with only your new baby. Thank you heaven for Netflix, watching shows without the commercials is so much better. Grey’s Anatomy is a show I was never able to watch before, but somehow I watched all eleven episodes of this show in under 4 months. And I am so thankful for this show it taught me a lot.

p13035963_b_v8_aa

5.Sleep

Sleeping was very rare and still is,but you the mama needs to get some rest. What worked for us was that I would pump and hubby would do the first two night feedings, which allowed me to sleep from 8pm to 12am. sleeping also helps to increase milk supply.

What are some of the things that helped you deal with breastfeeding?

xoxo Marco

Leave a Reply

